Availability Period : Feb, Mar, Apr, 1-15 May, Jul to Oct

The Chitwan District is one of 75 districts of Nepal, and is located in the southwestern part of Province No. 3 with Bharatpur, the fourth largest city of Nepal, as its district headquarters. It covers an area of 2,238.39 km2 (864.25 sq mi), and in 2011 had a population of 579,984 (279,087 male and 300,897 female) people. Bharatpur is a commercial and service centre of central south Nepal and major destination for higher education, health care and transportation in the region

Chitwan is very popular for tasty Taas (Nepali: तास), a spicy fried goat meat dish served with bhuja or cheura available in many restaurants. Momo, Sukuti Khaja Set and other Newa cuisine and Tharu food is also popular. Dal bhat is the staple food of the area, meat and dairy products are also widely consumed. For centuries, traditional fermented foods and beverages have constituted about 20% of the local diet. Depending on altitudinal variation, finger millet, wheat, buckwheat, barley, vegetable, potato, and soybeans are grown.


The district takes its name from the Chitwan Valley, one of Nepal's Inner Terai valleys between the Mahabharat and Siwalik ranges, both considered foothills of the Himalayas. Narayangadh is located on the banks of the Narayani River, and is the main town with numerous shopping zones where people come from all over the district and neighbouring districts.

There are about 25 Village Development Committees, each of which has nine wards or villages and one Metropolitan city, Bharatpur. There are minimum[clarification needed] of seven municipalities some of them are Ratnanagar, Khairahani and Chitrawan Rapti Municipality ( a combination of Piple, Bhandara and Birendranagar VDCs), Kalika Municipality and Madi municipality. Chitwan is one of the few remaining undisturbed vestiges of the Terai region, which formerly extended over the foothills of Nepal.

Country Nepal
Area 2,238.39 km2
Languages spoken Nepali,English,Hindi
Currency Rupee